Netflix: art vs. expectation

I start off watching a film called Assault on Wall Street thinking it is a heist film. Two security guards, two cops. A family man, a young cop, a guy having trouble with his wife, a guy having lost a lot of money on a hedge fund. The something happened and I don’t know what it was. One of the reasons I don’t know is because I started fast forwarding. It was getting boring. When I stopped fast forwarding the one guy’s wife has committed suicide, he has lost his job and his house. Suffice to say it wasn’t a heist movie. I thought about rewinding and rewatching the missed sections, but it was too late. I had already got the sense that this was a film with a message and apparently that message was kill lots of guys in suits. A pretty harsh message if you ask me.

It wouldn’t be an understatement to say I lost the plot.

I watched a film called Cherry, I think it is also known as About Cherry. It claimed to be a female version of Boogie Nights. Now Boogie Nights was a highly entertaining film. Cherry was not. The biggest problem was I was expecting Boogie Nights, a film with some humour, interesting characters, dramatic moments and the rise (yes, pun intended) of a man. Cherry had none of those things.

Would I have liked Cherry or Assault on Wall Street if my expectations had been different? Probably not, but the important point is I wouldn’t have watched them.

One thought on “Netflix: art vs. expectation

What are you thinking?

