#amwriting—redundant?

I see a lot of #amwriting tags whether on twitter, facebook or various blogs. I get what the authors are trying to say, they are celebrating the fact they are writing by stopping writing to tell everyone they are writing. Makes complete sense to me.

My difficulty with the tag, and the reason why this is the first time I have seriously used it, is I’m always writing. I’m writing at this very moment. I write tweets, I write blogs, I write fiction, I love writing letters, I write notes. Forget the ‘dear suchandsuch Happy Birthday’ message, I love those personal comments, which is not to say I’m always good at them.

And this is what I think people are saying with the #amwriting tag: I’m writing something good. I write all the time. I write because I love to do it, but it’s not always good. A lot of the time it is crap.

I love it when my stories and articles are published but I’m never going to be depending on this to feed the family. I won’t say I wouldn’t like that, but that’s not why I do it. I do it because I love it, whether I’m good at it or not (and there are lots of people out there with lots of opinions on the matter) sorry but I’m going to keep doing it. So let’s just take for granted the sign on the door is #alwayswriting.

What are you thinking?

